U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590

Skip to content
Facebook iconYouTube iconTwitter iconFlickr iconLinkedInInstagram

Federal Highway Administration Research and Technology
Coordinating, Developing, and Delivering Highway Transportation Innovations

This report is an archived publication and may contain dated technical, contact, and link information
Back to Publication List        
Publication Number:  FHWA-HRT-15-043    Date:  June 2015
Publication Number: FHWA-HRT-15-043
Date: June 2015


Investigating Improvements to Pedestrian Crossings With An Emphasis on The Rectangular Rapid-Flashing Beacon


This research is sponsored by FHWA as part of the “Evaluation of Pedestrians Safety Engineering Countermeasures at Urban and Suburban Midblock Crossing Locations” project. The research was performed at the TTI and MRIGlobal.

The project was under the direction of Ann Do of FHWA. The following panel members provided comments and advice and generously donating their time and effort during the project: George Branyan, Michael Cynecki, Dwight Kingsbury, Peter Koonce, David Levinger, Ransford McCourt, Meghan Mitman, Richard Nassi, Richard Retting, and Roger Wentz. Their advice and guidance was greatly appreciated during the course of the study.

Several TTI employees assisted the authors with the closed-course study, including Mehdi Azimi, Jared Buckler, Seth Cole, Martin Fuest, Blanca Garcia, Jonathan Graber, Sarah Hammond, Michael Hardy, Laura Higgins, Grant Jackson, Greg Larson, Ivan Lorenz, Jeff Miles, Hailey Minter, Sarah Motes, Madison Munson, Scott Nemec, Jesse Ortega, Jose Rocha, Elizabeth Sandefur, Nada Trout, Dan Walker, Christine Yager, and Dick Zimmer.

Several TTI employees also assisted the authors with the open-road study by collecting or reducing the data, including Adrian Contreras, Amanda Martin, Blanca Garcia, Carla Kolber, Colleen Dau, Dan Walker, Daniel Aaron, Jeff Miles, Jeremy Johnson, Michael Hardy, Mike Pratt, Nicholas Wood, Sarah Motes, and Seth Cole. John Ronchetto of MRIGlobal was also a key staff member in collecting open-road data.

The research team is also grateful to the representatives and staff of the cities that participated in and facilitated the open-road study: Austin, TX (Gary Schatz, Jim Dale, Ronnie Bell, and Willard Peavy); College Station, TX (Troy Rother and Lee Robinson); Flagstaff, AZ (Jeffrey Bauman, Randy Whitaker, and Steven Hill); and Milwaukee, WI (Robert Bryson and Scott Reinbacher).

We also value the comments provided by reviewers of draft versions of this material and members of the NCUTCD.



Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000
Turner-Fairbank Highway Research Center | 6300 Georgetown Pike | McLean, VA | 22101