U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590

Skip to content
Facebook iconYouTube iconTwitter iconFlickr iconLinkedInInstagram

Federal Highway Administration Research and Technology
Coordinating, Developing, and Delivering Highway Transportation Innovations

This report is an archived publication and may contain dated technical, contact, and link information
Publication Number: FHWA-HRT-09-060
Date: April 2010

Alternative Intersections/Interchanges: Informational Report (AIIR)


This report was prepared for the Federal Highway Administration, Office of Safety under Contract DTFH61-05-D-00024. The FHWA Contract Task Order Manager for this project was Dr. Joe Bared. Warren Hughes was the study Principal Investigator. Ram Jagannathan was the primary author of this report, who received support by Dibyendu Sengupta. Dr. Joe Hummer provided general guidance for the technical aspects of the project. Other significant contributions to the study were made by Dr. Hugh McGee, Kelly Hardy, Dr. Frank Gross, Kim Eccles, Michelle Smith, Charles O'Connell, Frank Spielberg, Dan Nabors, Niraja Chandrapu, Rachel Steiner, Michelle Scism, Dr. Bhagwant Persaud, Craig Lyon, and Dr. Praveen Edara of the University of Missouri-Rolla.

The project team gratefully acknowledges the participation of the following organizations and individuals for their assistance in this study, as follows:

  • Federal Highway Administration, particularly Neil Spiller, James Colyar, John Halkias, Wei Zhang, Tamara Redmon, Fred Ranck, Brian Chandler, Mary Stringfellow, William Prosser, and Scott Wainwright.
  • U.S. Department of Transportation, particularly Ed Rice and Jon Obenberger.
  • Charlotte Department of Transportation, particularly Debbie Self.
  • Maryland State Highway Administration, particularly Tom Hicks and Saed Rahwanji.
  • California Department of Transportation, particularly Robert Copp and Jerry Champa.
  • City of Phoenix, particularly Mike Cynecki.
  • Texas Department of Transportation, particularly Elizabeth Hilton.
  • U.S. States Access Board, particularly Louis Thibault.
  • Ohio Department of Transportation, particularly James Young.


Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000
Turner-Fairbank Highway Research Center | 6300 Georgetown Pike | McLean, VA | 22101