U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-4000


Skip to content U.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway AdministrationU.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway Administration

Construction

<< PreviousContentsNext >>

ACTT Workshop: Iowa
Maximizing Mobility

Appendix A: Workshop Attendees

Ahmad Abu-Hawash
Chief Structural Engineer
Iowa DOT - Bridges and Structures
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 239-1393
Fax: (515) 239-1978
E-mail: ahmad.abu-hawash@dot.iowa.gov

Rex Allen
Traffic Engineering Technician
Iowa DOT - District 4
63200 White Pole Road
Atlantic, Iowa 50022
Phone: (712) 243-3355
Fax: (712) 243-6788
E-mail: rex.allen@dot.iowa.gov

Steve Baer
Assistant Resident Construction Engineer
Iowa DOT - District 4
3540 S. Expressway
Council Bluffs, Iowa 51502
Phone: (712) 366-0568
Fax: (712) 366-0569
E-mail: stephen.baer@dot.iowa.gov

Mark Ball
Public Information Officer
Texas DOT - Dallas
4777 US Hwy 80 East
Dallas, Texas 75150
Phone: (214) 320-4480
Fax: (214) 320-4488
E-mail: mball@dot.state.tx.us

Jim Bane
District Maintenance Manager
Iowa DOT - District 4
63200 White Pole Road
Atlantic, Iowa 50022
Phone: (712) 243-3355
Fax: (712) 243-6788
E-mail: james.bane@dot.iowa.gov

Bernie Banker
Chief ROW Appraiser
Iowa DOT - Right-of-Way
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 239-1258
Fax: (515) 239-1247
E-mail: bernard.banker@dot.iowa.gov

Brian Barth
Dallas Director of Transportation Planning & Development
Texas DOT - Dallas
PO Box 133067
Dallas, Texas 75313
Phone: (214) 320-6189
Fax: (214) 320-6625
E-mail: bbarth@dot.state.tx.us

Doug Bates
Chief Property Manager
Iowa DOT - Right-of-Way
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 239-1300
Fax: (515) 233-7859
E-mail: douglas.bates@dot.iowa.gov

Roger Bierbaum
Contracts Engineer
Iowa DOT - Contracts
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 239-1414
Fax: (515) 239-1325
E-mail: roger.bierbaum@dot.iowa.gov

Dean Bierwagen
Bridge Engineer
Iowa DOT - Ames
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 239-1585
Fax: (515) 239-1978
E-mail: dean.bierwagen@dot.iowa.gov

Lisa Biggs
Transportation Engineer
Iowa DOT - Ames
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 239-1343
Fax: (515) 239-1982
E-mail: lisa.biggs@dot.iowa.gov

David Bilow
Director, Engineered Structures
Portland Cement Association - Skokie
5420 Old Orchard Road
Skokie, Illinois 60077
Phone: (847) 972-9064
Fax: (847) 972-9065
E-mail: dbilow@cement.org

Darwin Bishop
Resident Construction Engineer
Iowa DOT - Sioux City
4611 U.S. 75 North
Sioux City, Iowa 51108
Phone: (712) 239-1367
Fax: (712) 239-1368
E-mail: darwin.bishop@dot.iowa.gov

Jerry Blanding
Innovative Contracting Engineer
FHWA - Resource Center
10 S. Howard Street
Suite 4000
Baltimore, Maryland 21201
Phone: (410) 962-2253
Fax: (410) 962-3655
E-mail: jerry.blanding@fhwa.dot.gov

Chris Brakke
Pavement Section Engineer
Iowa DOT - Design
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 239-1882
Fax: (515) 239-1873
E-mail: chris.brakke@dot.iowa.gov

Dan Briggs
Transportation Engineer
FHWA - Nebraska Division
100 Centennial Mall North
Lincoln, Nebraska 68508
Phone: (402) 437-5985
Fax: (402) 437-5146
E-mail: danny.briggs@fhwa.dot.gov

Marvin Bright
Utilities Manager
Oklahoma DOT - Oklahoma City
200 NE 21st Street
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105
Phone: (405) 521-2641
Fax: (405) 522-3105
E-mail: mbright@odot.org

Frank Brill
Final Plans Coordinator
Nebraska DOR - Lincoln
1500 Highway 2
Lincoln, Nebraska 68502
Phone: (402) 479-4532
Fax: (402) 471-3401
E-mail: fbrill@dor.state.ne.us

Jack Brown
Area Manager
PB Farradyne - St. Louis
1831 Chestnut Street
Suite 700
St. Louis, Missouri 63103
Phone: (314) 206-4311
Fax: (314) 421-1741
E-mail: brown@pbworld.com

John Carns
Local Systems Engineer
Iowa DOT - District 4
63200 White Pole Road
Atlantic, Iowa 50022
Phone: (712) 243-3355
Fax: (712) 243-6788
E-mail: john.carns@dot.iowa.gov

Fred Cerka
Geometric Design Specialist
Iowa DOT - Ames
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 239-1404
Fax: (515) 239-1873
E-mail: fred.cerka@dot.iowa.gov

Vijay Chandra
Senior VP
Parsons Brinckerhoff - New York City
250 W. 34th Street
New York City, New York 10119
Phone: (212) 465-5377
Fax: (212) 631-3787
E-mail: chandrav@pbworld.com

Bill Cook
Materials Engineer
Iowa DOT - District 4
63200 White Pole Road
Atlantic, Iowa 50022
Phone: (712) 243-2346
Fax: (712) 243-6788
E-mail: william.cook@dot.iowa.gov

Tim Crouch
Traffic Engineer
Iowa DOT - Ames
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 239-1513
Fax: (515) 239-1891
E-mail: tim.crouch@dot.iowa.gov

Cathy Cutler
Field Services Coordinator
Iowa DOT - District 6
430 16th Ave SW
Cedar Rapids, Iowa 52406
Phone: (319) 364-0235
Fax: (319) 364-9614
E-mail: catherine.cutler@dot.iowa.gov

John D'Angelo
Office of Pavement Technology Team Leader
FHWA - Pavement Technology
1200 New Jersey Avenue SE
Washington, DC 20590
Phone: (202) 366-0121
Fax: (202) 493-2070
E-mail: john.dangelo@fhwa.dot.gov

Kevin Dayton
State Construction Engineer
Washington DOT - Olympia
310 Maple Park Ave SE
Olympia, Washington 98504
Phone: (360) 705-7821
Fax: (360) 705-6809
E-mail: daytonk@wsdot.wa.gov

Terry Gibson
Assistant Design Engineer
Nebraska DOR - Lincoln
1500 Highway 2
Lincoln, Nebraska 68502
Phone: (402) 479-4565
Fax: (402) 471-3401
E-mail: tgibson@dor.state.ne.us

Jerry Graham
Principal Traffic Engineer
Midwest Research Institute - Kansas City
425 Volker Blvd.
Kansas City, Missouri 64110
Phone: (816) 753-7600 x1437
Fax: (816) 561-6557
E-mail: jgraham@mriresearch.org

Max Grogg
Technical Programs Team Leader
FHWA - Iowa Division
105 6th Street
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 233-7306
Fax: (515) 233-7499
E-mail: max.grogg@fhwa.dot.gov

Scott Hanson
Proposal Engineer
Iowa DOT - Contracts
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 239-1274
Fax: (515) 239-1325
E-mail: scott.hanson@dot.iowa.gov

Gary Harris
Transportation Engineer
Iowa DOT - Location and Environment
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 239-1459
Fax: (515) 239-1982
E-mail: gary.harris@dot.iowa.gov

Wallace Heyen
Signing & Marking Engineer
Nebraska DOR - Lincoln
1500 Highway 2
Lincoln, Nebraska 68502
Phone: (402) 479-4594
Fax: (402) 471-3401
E-mail: wheyen@dor.state.ne.us

Becky Hiatt
Field Operations Team Leader
FHWA - Iowa Division
105 6th Street
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 233-7321
Fax: (515) 233-7499
E-mail: rebecca.hiatt@fhwa.dot.gov

Gene Hoelker
Innovative Contracting Engineer
FHWA - Resource Center
19900 Governors Drive
Suite 301
Olympia Fields, Illinois 60461
Phone: (708) 283-3520
Fax: (708) 283-3501
E-mail: eugene.hoelker@fhwa.dot.gov

Brad Hofer
Transportation Engineer
Iowa DOT - Location & Environment
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 239-1787
Fax: (515) 239-1982
E-mail: brad.hofer@dot.iowa.gov

Jason Holst
Transportation Engineer
Iowa DOT - Design
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 239-1821
Fax: (515) 239-1873
E-mail: jason.holst@dot.iowa.gov

Gerry Huber
Associate Director of Research
Heritage Group - Indianapolis
7901 W Morris Street
Indianapolis, Indiana 64231
Phone: (317) 390-3141
Fax: (317) 486-2985
E-mail: gerald.huber@heritage-enviro.com

Joe Huerta
Pavement Management Engineer
FHWA - Resource Center
10 S. Howard Street
Suite 4000
Baltimore, Maryland 21201
Phone: (410) 962-2298
Fax: (410) 962-3655
E-mail: joeseph.huerta@fhwa.dot.gov

Todd Huju
District 3 Construction Engineer
Iowa DOT - District 3
2800 Gordon Drive
Sioux City, Iowa 51102
Phone: (712) 276-1451
Fax: (712) 276-2822
E-mail: todd.huju@dot.iowa.gov

Randy Iwasaki
Deputy Director
California Department of Transportation - Maintenance & Operations
1120 N Street
Sacramento, California 94273-0001
Phone: (916) 654-6823
Fax: (916) 654-6608
E-mail: randell_iwasaki@dot.ca.gov

Larry Jones
Project Development Engineer
Wisconsin DOT - Madison
4802 Sheboygan Ave
Madison, Wisconsin 53707
Phone: (608) 267-7954
Fax: (608) 267-1862
E-mail: larry.jones@dot.state.wi.us

Joe Jurasic
Construction/Transportation Engineer
FHWA - Iowa Division
105 6th Street
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 233-7304
Fax: (515) 233-7499
E-mail: joe.jurasic@fhwa.dot.gov

Ed Kasper
Assistant Contracts Engineer
Iowa DOT - Contracts
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 239-1414
Fax: (515) 239-1325
E-mail: edward.kasper@dot.iowa.gov

Kathy Kendrick
Realty Specialist
FHWA - Planning, Environment, & Realty
1200 New Jersey Avenue SE
Washington, DC 20590
Phone: (202) 366-2035
E-mail: kathleen.kendrick@fhwa.dot.gov

Ghassen Khankarli
Design Manager
Texas DOT - McKinney
2205 S. State Highway 5
McKinney, Texas 75069
Phone: (972) 542-2345 x3015
Fax: (972) 548-5820
E-mail: gkhanka@dot.state.tx.us
Ed Kosola
Realty Officer
FHWA - Nebraska Division
100 Centennial Mall North
Lincoln, Nebraska 68508
Phone: (402) 437-5973
Fax: (402) 437-5146
E-mail: edward.kosola@fhwa.dot.gov

Mike LaPietra
Environment and Realty Manager
FHWA - Iowa Division
105 6th Street
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 233-7302
Fax: (515) 233-7499
E-mail: mike.lapietra@fhwa.dot.gov

Jordan Larsen
Bridge Foundation Engineer
Nebraska DOR - Lincoln
1500 Highway 2
Lincoln, Nebraska 68502
Phone: (402) 479-3691
Fax: (402) 479-3975
E-mail: jlarsen@dor.state.ne.us

Marion Leaphart
Utilities Manager
South Carolina DOT - Columbia
955 Park Street
Columbia, South Carolina 29202
Phone: (803) 737-1296
Fax: (803) 737-6045
E-mail: leaphartme@scdot.org

Marv Lech
District 2 Construction Engineer
Nebraska DOR - Omaha
4425 S 108th St.
Omaha, Nebraska 68145
Phone: (402) 595-2534
Fax: (402) 595-1720
E-mail: mlech@dor.state.ne.us

Mary Lou Masko
Construction & Contract Administration Engineer
FHWA - Resource Center
61 Forsyth St. SW
Suite 17T26
Atlanta, Georgia 30303
Phone: (404) 562-3920
Fax: (404) 562-3700
E-mail: marylou.masko@fhwa.dot.gov

Deana Maifield
Methods Engineer
Iowa DOT - Design
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 239-1571
Fax: (515) 239-1873
E-mail: deanna.maifield@dot.iowa.gov

Dick Mattox
Maintenance Supervisor
Iowa DOT - District 4
3540 S. Expressway
Council Bluffs, Iowa 51502
Phone: (712) 366-0332
Fax: (712) 366-9129
E-mail: dick.mattoxjr@dot.iowa.gov

Donna Matulac
Transportation Engineer
Iowa DOT - Location & Environment
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 239-1381
Fax: (515) 239-1982
E-mail: donna.matulac@dot.iowa.gov

Steve Mefford
District 4 Operations Manager
Iowa DOT - District 4
3540 S. Expressway
Council Bluffs, Iowa 51502
Phone: (712) 366-4642
Fax: (712) 366-9129
E-mail: stephen.mefford@dot.iowa.gov

Steve Megivern
Transportation Engineer
Iowa DOT - Design
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 239-1936
Fax: (515) 239-1873
E-mail: stephen.megivern@dot.iowa.gov

Glen Miller
District 4 Construction Engineer
Iowa DOT - District 4
63200 White Pole Road
Atlantic, Iowa 50022
Phone: (712) 243-3355
Fax: (712) 243-6788
E-mail: glen.miller@dot.iowa.gov

Curtis Monk
Bridge Engineer
FHWA - Iowa Division
105 6th Street
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 233-7320
Fax: (515) 233-7499
E-mail: curtis.monk@fhwa.dot.gov

Dick Moraine
Engineering Operations Technician
Iowa DOT - District 4
300 W. Broadway
Suite 401
Council Bluffs, Iowa 51502
Phone: (712) 323-6125
Fax: (712) 323-6195
E-mail: richard.moraine@dot.iowa.gov

Brian Morrissey
Assistant District Engineer
Iowa DOT - District 4
63200 White Pole Road
Atlantic, Iowa 50022
Phone: (712) 243-3355
Fax: (712) 243-6788
E-mail: brian.morrissey@dot.iowa.gov

Doug Morse
Civil Engineer II
New York DOT - Albany
50 Wolf Road
Albany, New York 12232
Phone: (518) 457-4843
Fax: (518) 457-2916
E-mail: dmorse@dot.state.ny.us

Don Muessigmann
Chief Acquisition Agent
Iowa DOT - Right-of-Way
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 239-1135
Fax: (515) 239-1247
E-mail: donald.muessigmann@dot.iowa.gov

Jim Nelson
Consultant Coordinator
Iowa DOT - Bridges & Structures
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 233-7723
Fax: (515) 239-1978
E-mail: james.nelson@dot.iowa.gov

Gary Novey
Assistant Bridge Engineer
Iowa DOT - Bridges & Structures
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 239-1564
Fax: (515) 239-1978
E-mail: gary.novey@dot.iowa.gov

Peter Osborn
Hydraulic & Geotechnical Technical Service Team Leader
FHWA - Resource Center
10 S. Howard Street
Suite 4000
Baltimore, Maryland 21201
Phone: (410) 962-0702
Fax: (410) 962-3655
E-mail: peter.osborn@fhwa.dot.gov

Jeff Owen
District 4 Field Services Coordinator
Iowa DOT - District 4
63200 White Pole Road
Atlantic, Iowa 50022
Phone: (712) 243-3355
Fax: (712) 243-6788
E-mail: jeff.owen@dot.iowa.gov

Deanne Popp
Agreements Specialist
Iowa DOT - Local Systems
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 239-1527
Fax: (515) 239-1966
E-mail: deanne.popp@dot.iowa.gov

Bill Prosser
Geometric Design Engineer
FHWA - Program Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue SE
Washington, DC 20590
Phone: (202) 366-1332
Fax: (202) 366-3988
E-mail: william.prosser@fhwa.dot.gov

Bud Roberts
Urban Design Specialist
Oregon DOT - Portland
123 NW Flanders Street
Portland, Oregon 97209
Phone: (503) 731-8482
Fax: (503) 731-8531
E-mail: wilton.a.roberts@odot.state.or.us

Tracy Roberts
Project Manager
Iowa DOT - District 4
63200 White Pole Road
Atlantic, Iowa 50022
Phone: (712) 243-3355
Fax: (712) 243-6788

Jerry Roche
Safety Engineer
FHWA - Iowa Division
105 6th Street
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 233-7323
Fax: (515) 233-7499
E-mail: jerry.roche@fhwa.dot.gov

Lisa Rold
Transportation Engineer
FHWA - Iowa Division
105 6th Street
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 233-7307
Fax: (515) 233-7499
E-mail: lisa.rold@fhwa.dot.gov

Patricia Schwartz
Transportation Engineer
Iowa DOT - Bridges & Structures
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 233-7948
Fax: (515) 239-1978
E-mail: patricia.schwartz@dot.iowa.gov

Sidney Scott
Vice President
Trauner Consulting Services - Philadelphia
1617 JFK Blvd.
Suite 600
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19103
Phone: (215) 814-6400
Fax: (215) 814-6440
E-mail: sid.scott@traunerconsulting.com

John Selmer
District 4 Engineer
Iowa DOT - District 4
63200 White Pole Road
Atlantic, Iowa 50022
Phone: (712) 243-3355
Fax: (712) 243-6788
E-mail: john.selmer@dot.iowa.gov

Barry Sieh
Utility Relocations Negotiator
Iowa DOT - Local Systems
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 239-1183
Fax: (515) 239-1966
E-mail: barry.sieh@dot.iowa.gov

Barry Siel
Geotechnical Engineer
FHWA - Resource Center
12300 W. Dakota Ave.
Suite 340
Lakewood, Colorado 80228
Phone: (720) 963-3208
Fax: (720) 963-3232
E-mail: barry.siel@fhwa.dot.gov

Dave Skogerboe
Design Section Engineer
Iowa DOT - Design
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 239-1856
Fax: (515) 239-1873
E-mail: dave.skogerboe@dot.iowa.gov

John Smythe
Construction Engineer
Iowa DOT - Construction
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 239-1352
Fax: (515) 239-1845
E-mail: john.smythe@dot.iowa.gov

Jim Sorenson
Construction & System Preservation Team Leader
FHWA - Asset Management
1200 New Jersey Avenue SE
Washington, DC 20590
Phone: (202) 366-1333
Fax: (202) 366-9981
E-mail: james.sorenson@fhwa.dot.gov

Willy Sorenson
ITS Engineer
Iowa DOT - Research & Technology
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 239-1212
Fax: (515) 239-1766
E-mail: willy.sorenson@dot.iowa.gov

Mary Stahlhut
Iowa DOT - Traffic & Safety
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 239-1169
Fax: (515) 239-1891
E-mail: mary.stahlhut@dot.iowa.gov

Bob Stanley
Soils Section Engineer
Iowa DOT - Design
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 239-1026
Fax: (515) 239-1873
E-mail: robert.stanley@dot.iowa.gov

Don Stevens
Resident Construction Engineer
Iowa DOT - District 4
701 E. Taylor
Creston, Iowa 50801
Phone: (641) 782-4518
Fax: (641) 782-6618
E-mail: donald.stevens@dot.iowa.gov

Scott Suhr
District 4 Planner
Iowa DOT - District 4
63200 White Pole Road
Atlantic, Iowa 50022
Phone: (712) 243-3355
Fax: (712) 243-6788
E-mail: scott.suhr@dot.iowa.gov

Wayne Sunday
Structures Engineer
Iowa DOT - Construction
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 239-1185
Fax: (515) 239-1845
E-mail: wayne.sunday@dot.iowa.gov

Ingrid Teboe
District 5 Field Services Coordinator
Iowa DOT - District 5
307 W. Briggs
Fairfield, Iowa 52556
Phone: (641) 472-4174
Fax: (641) 472-3622
E-mail: ingrid.teboe@dot.iowa.gov

Lynden Vander Veen
Nebraska DOR - Lincoln
1500 Highway 2
Lincoln, Nebraska 68502
Phone: (402) 479-3971
Fax: (402) 471-3401
E-mail: lvanderv@dor.state.ne.us

Jim Whetstone
District 4 Staff Engineer
Iowa DOT - District 4
300 W. Broadway
Suite 401
Council Bluffs, Iowa 51502
Phone: (712) 323-6125
Fax: (712) 323-6195
E-mail: james.whetstone@dot.iowa.gov

Andy Wilson
Transportation Engineer
FHWA - Iowa Division
105 6th Street
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515) 233-7313
Fax: (515) 233-7499
E-mail: andrew.wilson@fhwa.dot.gov

Liz Wunderlich
Contracts Manager
Nebraska DOR - Lincoln
1500 Highway 2
Lincoln, Nebraska 68502
Phone: (402) 479-4528
Fax: (402) 471-3401
E-mail: liz.wunderlich@dor.state.ne.us
<< PreviousContentsNext >>
Updated: 10/31/2013
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000