U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-4000


Skip to content
Facebook iconYouTube iconTwitter iconFlickr iconLinkedInInstagram

FHWA Resource Center

FHWA Home / Resource Center / Environment, Air Quality, and Realty Team

Environment, Air Quality, and Realty

Environment, Air Quality, and Realty Team

We are pleased to offer our services and provide you with the latest in Environmental, Air Quality, and Realty information and technology.

Here you will find important information about FHWA Environmental, Air Quality, and Realty initiatives along with information on who to contact for training and assistance.

Who We Are …

The FHWA Resource Center Environment, Air Quality, and Realty Team is a team of subject matter experts with advanced knowledge and experience representing diverse natural, social science and engineering disciplines. The Environment, Air Quality, and Realty Team is committed to enhancing FHWA's environmental, air quality, and realty programs by providing an expert level of technical assistance and quality workshops, training and seminars to our customers and partners.

The Teams, Team Members and their corresponding specialties are listed below. For additional information or assistance on any subject, including those not listed, please contact the Technical Director or one of the Team Leaders.


Technical Director

Michael Claggett
Acting Technical Director Environment, Air Quality, and Realty
Michael.Claggett@dot.gov

 

Team MemberSpecialty Area(s)
Rodney Vaughn – Team Leader
Environmental Program Specialist
rodney.vaughn@dot.gov
Complete Streets
Context Sensitive Solutions
Document Quality
Livability
NEPA Project Management
Rob Ayers
Environmental Program Specialist
rob.ayers@dot.gov
Linking Planning and NEPA (PEL)
Indirect and Cumulative Effects
NEPA Project Development
Facilitation/Dispute Resolution
Wild and Scenic Rivers Act
Section 4(f)
David Grachen
Environmental Program Specialist
david.grachen@dot.gov
Section 4(f)
NEPA Assignment
Federal requirements for Local Public Agencies (LPAs)
Environmental Commitments
NEPA Project Development
Tribal Consultation
Section 106
Keith Moore
Environmental Program Specialist
keith.moore@dot.gov
Community Impact Assessment
Context Sensitive Solutions
Environmental Justice
NEPA and Transportation Decision Making
Public Involvement
NHI Liaison
Stephanie Stoermer
Environmental Program Specialist/Archeologist
Stephanie.Stoermer@dot.gov
Highway Traffic Noise
Historic Preservation Laws /Section 106
Tribal Consultation and Coordination
NEPA Project Development
Document Quality
Environmental Justice
Community Impact Assessment
Noel Mehlo
Environmental Program Specialist
Noel.Mehlo@dot.gov
NEPA Program & Project Development/Management
NEPA Assignment & Audits
Programmatic Approaches & Interagency Relationships
Hazardous Materials
Brian Yanchik – Team Leader
Ecologist
brian.yanchik@dot.gov
Ecology and Transportation
Endangered Species Act - Section 7
Interagency Coordination and Cooperation
Programmatic Consultation
Water, aquatic resources, streams, floodplains
Wetland Functional Assessment

Marella Buncick
Ecologist
marella.buncick@dot.gov

 

Infrastructure Effects Analysis on Natural Resources
ESA Section 7 Consultations
E&S Controls for Sensitive Waters
Brian Smith
Ecologist
bsmith@dot.gov
Indirect and Cumulative Impacts Workshop
Natural Resource Coordination
Section 10/404 - Clean Water Act
Stormwater Management/Quality/Soil Erosion/Sediment Control
Wetlands/Stream Restoration, Mitigation Banking
Ecosystem / Watershed Approach
Michael Claggett – Team Leader
Air Quality Modeling Specialist
michael.claggett@dot.gov

Mobile Source Air Toxics (MSAT)
Highway Air Dispersion Modeling

David D´Onofrio
Air Quality Specialist
david.d'onofrio@dot.gov
Regional Transportation Conformity
Mobile Source Emissions Modeling
Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality Improvement (CMAQ) Program
Sustainable Transportation and Resiliency

George Noel
Air Quality Modeling Specialist
george.noel@dot.gov

 

Mobile Source Emissions Modeling
Traffic / Transportation Modeling
Traffic Noise Modeling
Leigh Oesterling
Air Quality Specialist
leigh.oesterling@dot.gov
Regional Transportation Conformity
Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality Improvement (CMAQ) Program
Sustainable Transportation and Resiliency
Traffic / Transportation Modeling
Mike Roberts
Senior Air Quality Specialist
michael.roberts@dot.gov

Regional Transportation Conformity
Highway Traffic Noise
Health and Transportation
Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality Improvement (CMAQ) Program

Chris Dresser
Air Quality Modeling Specialist
christopher.dresser@dot.gov
Mobile Source Emissions Modeling
Highway Air Dispersion Modeling
Project-level Conformity
Marshall Wainright – Team Leader
Realty Specialist
marshall.wainright@dot.gov
Uniform Relocation Act
Outdoor Advertising and Junkyard Control
Federal Aid Appraisal Requirement
Advance and Hardship Acquisition
Relocation Assistance
Federal Requirements for Local Public Agencies (LPAs)

Chad A. Crawford
Realty Specialist
chad.a.crawford@dot.gov

 

Uniform Relocation Act
Appraisal, Appraisal Review, and Appraisal Valuation
Michele Palicka
Realty Specialist
michele.palicka@dot.gov
ROW and NEPA Linkage
Uniform Relocation Act
Federal Requirements for Local Public Agencies (LPAs)
Right of Way (ROW) Streamlining
ROW Property Management
Cindy Callahan
Environmental Specialist/Biologist
Cindy.callahan@dot.gov
Endangered Species Act
Hydroacoustics
Marine Mammal Protection Act
Deborah Suciu-Smith
Environment Program Specialist / Archeologist
deborah.suciu.smith@dot.gov
Fiscal Constraint
NEPA and Project Development Process
NHPA/Section 106 Consultation/Tribal Consultation
Public Involvement/EJ
Section 4(f)

 

Page last modified on September 3, 2020
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000