U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-4000


Skip to content
Facebook iconYouTube iconTwitter iconFlickr iconLinkedInInstagram

FHWA Resource Center
Office of Innovation Implementation

FHWA Home / Resource Center / Safety and Design Team

Safety and Design

Safety and Design Team

Safety and Design is one of several teams within the Federal Highway Administration’s Resource Center. The Safety and Design Team works closely with FHWA Headquarters, field offices and other Federal agencies to provide technical assistance, technology deployment and training to partners and customers.

The following table lists the areas in which the team provides technical expertise along with the names of the team members who can provide assistance. You can find the person’s contact information by clicking on the name.

Technical Areas Primary Contact Other Contacts
Data Driven Safety Analysis (incl. Highway Safety Manual, IHSDM, Roadway Safety Data and Analysis, and Systemic Safety) John McFadden Derek Troyer, Hillary Isebrands, Elliott Moore, Dave Petrucci, Steve Ratke
Design Discipline George Merritt Mark Doctor, Brooke Struve, Hillary Isebrands, Elliott Moore, Steve Ratke
Geometric Design (incl. PBPD) George Merritt Mark Doctor, Hillary Isebrands, Brooke Struve, Dave Petrucci, Steve Ratke
Safety Performance Management Dave Kopacz Keith Sinclair, Derek Troyer
Safe System Approach (incl. LE) Mark Doctor Dave Petrucci, Keith Sinclair (LE), Steve Ratke, Elliott Moore, John McFadden
Interchange Design and Evaluation (including Innovative Interchange Geometrics) Elliott Moore Steve Ratke, Mark Doctor
Intersection Safety and Design (incl. Innovative Intersections, Roundabouts and ICE) Elliott Moore Tim Taylor, David Petrucci, Hillary Isebrands, Mark Doctor
Local, Rural and Tribal Road Safety (incl. HRRR) Hillary Isebrands Tori Brinkly, Derek Troyer
Pedestrian and Bicycle Safety and Design (including STEP and Road Diets) Keith Sinclair (Ped)
Brooke Struve (Bike)
Peter Eun, Tim Taylor
Complete Streets Brooke Struve Tim Taylor, Keith Sinclair, Peter Eun, Derek Troyer, Steve Ratke, John McFadden
Speed Management (incl. speed cameras, VSL, Design Speed, Target Speed) Peter Eun Mark Doctor, Tim Taylor, Elliott Moore
Roadway Departure/Roadside Design (including FoRRRwD, Safety Edge and HFST) Dick Albin
Tori Brinkly
Elliott Moore, Dave Kopacz, Tim Taylor
Safety Discipline Keith Sinclair All Team Members
Safe Roads and Streets for All Steve Ratke Peter Eun
Vulnerable Road Users (incl. Older Users) Dave Kopacz Mark Doctor, Keith Sinclair
Visibility (including retroreflectivity, roadway lighting, signing and marking design) George Merritt Tori Brinkly, Tim Taylor

 

Team Members
Patrick "Pat" Hasson
Safety and Design Team Technical Director
patrick.hasson@dot.gov
Victoria "Tori" Brinkly
Senior Safety Engineer
tori.brinkly@dot.gov
Richard "Dick" Albin
Senior Safety Engineer

richard.albin@dot.gov
Hillary Isebrands
Senior Safety Engineer/Team Leader

hillary.isebrands@dot.gov
Elliott Moore
Safety and Design Engineer

elliott.moore@dot.gov
Derek Troyer
Safety Engineer

Derek.Troyer@dot.gov
John McFadden
Senior Safety Engineer

John.McFadden@dot.gov
Dave Kopacz
Senior Safety Engineer (Hybrid)

david.kopacz@dot.gov
George Merritt
Senior Safety and Design Engineer

george.merritt@dot.gov
Mark Doctor
Senior Safety and Design Engineer/Team Leader

mark.doctor@dot.gov
Keith Sinclair
Senior Safety Engineer

keith.sinclair@dot.gov
Peter Eun
Safety Engineer

peter.eun@dot.gov
Brooke Struve
Senior Safety and Design Engineer

brooke.struve@dot.gov
Steve Ratke
Senior Safety & Geometric Design Engineer

stephen.ratke@dot.gov
Timothy Taylor
Senior Safety Engineer

timothy.taylor@dot.gov
David Petrucci
Senior Safety Engineer

david.petrucci@dot.gov

 

Page last modified on May 18, 2022
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000