U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-4000


Skip to content
FacebookYouTubeTwitterFlickrLinkedIn

FHWA Resource Center

FHWA Home / Resource Center / Operations Team

Operations

Operations Team

We are pleased to offer our services and provide you with the latest in Operations and ITS information and technology.

Here you will find important information about FHWA initiatives along with who to contact for training and assistance.

Listed below are the Resource Operations experts. Please email or call the specialist nearest you.


Team Manager

Grant Zammit
Operations Team Manager
grant.zammit@dot.gov

Deborah Martinez
Program Assistant
deborah.martinez@dot.gov

Operations Team Members
Team MembersSpecialty Area(s)
 
Eddie Curtis
Traffic Management Specialist
eddie.curtis@dot.gov
• Adaptive signal control Technology
• Regional Traffic Signal Operations Programs
• Evaluation and planning of traffic signal system operations
• Traffic signal Operations
• Traffic signal Timing
Richard Denney
Operations Specialist
richard.denney@dot.gov
• Traffic Signal Systems
• Freeway Management
• Data Communications
• Standards, Specification and Testing
• Systems Engineering
• National and Regional ITS Architecture
• Adaptive Traffic Signal Control Technologies
• Traffic Signal Timing and Operation
Eric Ferron
Civil Engineer (Highway)
eric.ferron@dot.gov
• MUTCD
• Work Zone Analysis, Operation and Safety
• Traffic Analysis and Simulation
• Incident Management
• Highway Capacity
Edward Fok
Transportation Technologies Specialist
edward.fok@dot.gov
• Arterial transportation operations, technologies, and systems
• Metropolitan and corridor transportation management systems
• Advanced freight technologies
• Transportation communication, hardware, and software technologies
• System engineering and agile development process
• Domain expert on surface transportation cybersecurity
Daniel Grate
SHRP2 / ITS Specialist
daniel.grate@dot.gov
• Work Zone Analysis and Operations
• Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS) Architecture
• Rural ITS Operations
• Traffic Operations and Management
• Traveler Information Systems
• Performance Measure
• Planning for Operations Strategies
Gregory Jones
Traffic Management Specialist/Team Leader
gregm.jones@dot.gov
• HOV/HOT/Managed Lanes
• Active Transportation and Demand Management
• Freeway Management Systems
• Emergency Transportation Operations
• Managing Traffic for Planned Special Events
James McCarthy
Traffic Operations Engineer
james.mccarthy@dot.gov
• Highway Capacity Manual
• Traffic Analysis
• Active Traffic Management Managed Lanes (HOV + HOT)
• Bus on Shoulder Program Intelligent Transportation System (ITS)
• Congestion Management
Ray Murphy
ITS Specialist
ray.murphy@dot.gov
• Intelligent Transportation Systems
• Real-Time Data Systems (DMS/VMS, 1201, 511)
• Road Weather Management (RWIS, MDSS)
• Traffic Incident and Events Management
Nathaniel Price
ITS Operations Engineer
nathaniel.price@dot.gov
• ITS Architecture
• Planning for Operations
• Systems Engineering
James Sturrock
ITS Operations Engineer
james.sturrock@dot.gov
• Traffic Analysis Tools
• Highway Capacity Manual
• Interchange Justification and Modifications
• Traffic Signal Timing and Traffic Signal Systems
• Traffic Operations
• Safety
• Intelligent Transportation Systems
Chung Tran
Transportation Operations Specialist/Team Leader
chung.tran@dot.gov
• Traffic Analysis:
• Highway Capacity Manual
• Dynamic Traffic Assignment
• Micro-simulation
• Interstate Access Process
• Emergency Transportation Planning & Operations
• Freeway System Operations
• Managed Travel for Planned Events
Ralph Volpe
Freight Technology/Operations Specialist
ralph.volpe@dot.gov
• Active Transportation and Demand Management (ATDM)
• Access Management
• Benefit Cost Analysis
• Bottleneck Reduction
• Congestion Management
• Planning for Operations
• Organizing for Operations
• Performance Measures and Data (Freight and Operations)

 

Page last modified on September 6, 2017
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000