U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-4000


Skip to content
Facebook iconYouTube iconTwitter iconFlickr iconLinkedInInstagram

FHWA Resource Center
Office of Innovation Implementation

FHWA Home / Resource Center / Operations Team

Operations

Operations Team

We are pleased to offer our services and provide you with the latest in Operations and ITS information and technology.

Here you will find important information about FHWA initiatives along with who to contact for training and assistance.

Listed below are the Resource Operations experts. Please email or call the specialist nearest you.


Technical Director

Grant Zammit
Operations Technical Director
grant.zammit@dot.gov

Team Members Specialty Area(s)
 
Eddie Curtis
Traffic Management Specialist
eddie.curtis@dot.gov
  • Objectives-based Traffic Signal Program Management
  • Adaptive Signal Control Technology
  • Regional Traffic Signal Operations Programs
  • Automated Traffic Signal Performance Measures
  • Traffic Signal Timing and Operations
Richard Denney
Operations Specialist
richard.denney@dot.gov
  • Traffic Signal Systems
  • Freeway Management
  • Data Communications
  • Standards, Specification and Testing
  • Systems Engineering
  • National and Regional ITS Architecture
  • Adaptive Traffic Signal Control Technologies
  • Traffic Signal Timing and Operation
Chris Dipalma
Transportation Specialist and Discipline Coordinator
chris.dipalma@dot.gov
  • Knowledge Management
  • Distance Learning
  • Leadership Development
  • Operations Discipline Communication and Coordination
Eric Ferron
Civil Engineer (Highway)
eric.ferron@dot.gov
  • MUTCD
  • Work Zone Analysis, Operation and Safety
  • Traffic Control Devices
  • Incident Management
  • Connected and Automated Vehicle Applications in Work Zones
Edward Fok
Transportation Technologies Specialist
edward.fok@dot.gov
Pacific Time Zone
  • Arterial Operations, Technologies, and Systems
  • Metropolitan and Corridor Transportation Management Systems
  • Advanced Freight Technologies
  • Transportation Communication, Hardware, and Software Technologies
  • System Engineering and Agile Development Process
  • Connected and Automated Transportation Systems
  • Domain Expert on Surface Transportation Cybersecurity
Daniel Grate, Jr.
Transportation Systems Management and Operations Specialist
daniel.grate@dot.gov
  • Work Zone Analysis and Operations
  • Rural Transportation Systems Management and Operations
  • Traveler Information Systems
  • TSMO Data and Performance Measures/Management
  • Planning for Operations Strategies
Greg Jones
Traffic Management Specialist
gregm.jones@dot.gov
  • HOV/HOT/Managed Lanes
  • Active Transportation and Demand Management
  • Freeway Management Systems
  • Crowdsourcing for Operations
  • Part-time Shoulder Lanes
  • Hurricane Evacuation Liaison Team Lead
Ray Murphy
ITS Specialist
ray.murphy@dot.gov
  • Connected and Automated Vehicles
  • Transportation Cyber Security
  • Road Weather Management
James Sturrock
Traffic Engineer
james.sturrock@dot.gov
  • Highway Capacity Manual
  • Transportation Systems Simulation Manual
  • Traffic Analysis Tools
  • Traffic Operations (Freeways and Arterials)
  • Safety
  • Interchange Justification and Modifications
Duane Thomas
Civil Engineer (Highway)
duane.thomas@dot.gov
  • Work Zone Analysis - Operations and Safety
  • Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices (FHWA MUTCD Team)
  • Highway Traffic Signals - Operations and Safety
  • Railroad and Light Rail Transit Grade Crossings - Operations and Safety
  • Interstate Access - Conceptual Signing Plans
Chung Tran
Transportation Operations Specialist/Team Leader
chung.tran@dot.gov
  • Traffic Analysis
  • Highway Capacity Manual
  • Dynamic Traffic Assignment
  • Micro-simulation
  • Interstate Access Process
  • Emergency Transportation Planning and Operations
  • Freeway System Operations
  • Managed Travel for Planned Events
Ralph Volpe
Transportation Systems/Operations Specialist
ralph.volpe@dot.gov
  • Transportation Systems Management and Operations
  • Organizing/Planning for Operations
  • Regional Concept of Transportation Operations
  • Active Transportation and Demand Management/Emerging Mobility
  • Integrated Corridor Management
  • Crowdsourcing for Operations
  • Real-Time Traveler Information
Ben Williams
Transportation Specialist
ben.williams@dot.gov
  • Planning for Operations
  • Transportation Systems Management and Operations
  • Transportation Performance Measures
  • Connected and Automated Vehicles

 

Page last modified on March 2, 2021
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000