U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-4000


Skip to content
FacebookYouTubeTwitterFlickrLinkedIn

FHWA Resource Center

FHWA Home / Resource Center / Safety and Design Team

Safety and Design

Safety and Design Team

Safety and Design is one of several teams within the Federal Highway Administration’s Resource Center. The Safety and Design Team works closely with FHWA Headquarters, field offices and other Federal agencies to provide technical assistance, technology deployment and training to partners and customers.

The following table lists the areas in which the team provides technical expertise along with the names of the team members who can provide assistance. You can find the person’s contact information by clicking on the name.

Technical Areas Primary Contact Other Contacts
(click on name for contact information)
Every Day Counts
Data Drive Safety Data & Analysis John McFadden Gene Amparano, Hillary Isebrands, David Petrucci
Road Diet Keith Harrison Peter Eun, Craig Allred
Safe Transportation for Every Pedestrian Peter Eun  
Highway Design (General)
Road Diets (Complete Streets, Context Sensitive Solutions) Keith Harrison Dick Albin, Mark Doctor, George Merritt, Brooke Struve
Design Discipline Champion Keith Harrison & Brooke Struve All Team Members
Geometric Design Keith Harrison Mark Doctor, Hillary Isebrands, George Merritt, Brooke Struve, Dick Albin, David Petrucci
Safety Performance See below Mark Doctor, Hillary Isebrands, George Merritt, Brooke Struve
Highway Safety Improvement Program (HSIP)
(including Comprehensive / Strategic Highway Safety Planning)
Crash Data John McFadden Frank Julian, Keith Sinclair, Hillary Isebrands, John McFadden, David Petrucci
Highway-Rail Grade Crossings Frank Julian Frank Julian, John McFadden, George Merritt
Intersection Safety
Interchange Design and Evaluation Mark Doctor Keith Harrison, George Merritt, Brooke Struve, Gene Amparano
Intersection Safety and Design
(incl. Roundabouts)
Tim Taylor & Hillary Isebrands Gene Amparano, Mark Doctor, George Merritt, David Petrucci
Local, Rural and Tribal Road Safety
Local, Rural and Tribal Road Safety Hillary Isebrands Dick Albin, Craig Allred, Gene Amparano, Frank Julian, Peter Eun
Pedestrian and Bicycle Safety
Pedestrian and Bicycle Safety Peter Eun Craig Allred, Hillary Isebrands, George Merritt, Keith Sinclair, John McFadden, David Petrucci
Roadway Departure Safety
(including Roadside Design)
Roadway Departure/Roadside Design Frank Julian & Dick Albin Gene Amparano, Keith Harrison, George Merritt
Safety Performance
Flexible Design Keith Harrison Dave Kopacz, Norah Ocel
Highway Safety Manual (including IHSDM) Gene Amparano David Petrucci, John McFadden, Mark Doctor
Performance Based Practical Design George Merritt Brooke Struve, Mark Doctor
Systemic Safety Hillary Isebrands Keith Sinclair
Safety Performance Management Dave Kopacz Norah Ocel
Various Other Safety Programs and Initiatives
Road Safety Audits Craig Allred Dick Albin, Keith Harrison, George Merritt, Keith Sinclair, Tim Taylor
Safety Discipline Champion Keith Sinclair All Team Members
Speed Management Craig Allred Keith Harrison, Hillary Isebrands, Tim Taylor
Visibility (including retroreflectivity, roadway lighting, signing and marking design) George Merritt Hillary Isebrands, Frank Julian, Tim Taylor, Brooke Struve

 

Team Members
Patrick "Pat" Hasson
Safety and Design Team Manager

patrick.hasson@dot.gov
Barbara Wilson
Program Assistant

barbara.wilson@dot.gov
Richard Albin
Safety Engineer

richard.albin@dot.gov
Hillary Isebrands
Safety Engineer

Federal Highway Administration
hillary.isebrands@dot.gov
Frank Julian
Safety Engineer

frank.julian@dot.gov
Craig Allred
Transportation Specialist

craig.allred@dot.gov
John McFadden
Safety Engineer

John.McFadden@dot.gov
Gene Amparano
Safety Engineer

gene.amparano@dot.gov
George Merritt
Safety Engineer

george.merritt@dot.gov
Mark Doctor
Safety and Design Engineer

mark.doctor@dot.gov
Keith Sinclair
Safety Engineer

keith.sinclair@dot.gov
Peter Eun
Safety Engineer

peter.eun@dot.gov
Brooke Struve
Safety and Design Engineer

brooke.struve@dot.gov
Keith Harrison
Safety and Design Engineer

keith.harrison@dot.gov
Timothy Taylor
Safety Engineer

timothy.taylor@dot.gov
David Petrucci
Safety Engineer

david.petrucci@dot.gov
Norah Ocel
Safety Engineer (Hybrid)

norah.ocel@dot.gov
Dave Kopacz
Safety Engineer (Hybrid)

dave.kopacz@dot.gov

 

Page last modified on August 1, 2017
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000