U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-4000


Skip to content
FacebookYouTubeTwitterFlickrLinkedIn

FHWA Resource Center

FHWA Home / Resource Center / Safety and Design Team

Safety and Design

Safety and Design Team

Safety and Design is one of several teams within the Federal Highway Administration’s Resource Center. The Safety and Design Team works closely with FHWA Headquarters, field offices and other Federal agencies to provide technical assistance, technology deployment and training to partners and customers.

The following table lists the areas in which the team provides technical expertise along with the names of the team members who can provide assistance. You can find the person’s contact information by clicking on the name.

Technical Areas Primary Contact Other Contacts
(click on name for contact information)
Every Day Counts
Safety Data & Analysis John McFadden Hillary Isebrands, David Petrucci
Safe Transportation for Every Pedestrian (STEP) (incl. Road Diet) Peter Eun / Keith Sinclair Craig Allred, Keith Harrison, Hillary Isebrands, Mark Doctor
Innovative Intersections and Interchange Geometrics (IIG) Mark Doctor George Merritt, David Petrucci, Hillary Isebrands, Tim Taylor
Highway Design (General)
Road Diets (Complete Streets, Context Sensitive Solutions) Keith Harrison Peter Eun, Brooke Struve, Mark Doctor, Keith Sinclair
Design Discipline Keith Harrison & Brooke Struve All Team Members
Geometric Design Keith Harrison Mark Doctor, Hillary Isebrands, George Merritt, Brooke Struve, David Petrucci, John McFadden
Safety Performance See below Mark Doctor, Hillary Isebrands, George Merritt, Brooke Struve
Highway Safety Improvement Program (HSIP)
(including Comprehensive / Strategic Highway Safety Planning)
Crash Data John McFadden Hillary Isebrands, David Petrucci, George Merritt
Intersection Safety
Interchange Design and Evaluation Mark Doctor Keith Harrison, George Merritt, Brooke Struve
Intersection Safety and Design
(incl. Roundabouts)
Hillary Isebrands Tim Taylor, Mark Doctor, George Merritt, David Petrucci
Local, Rural and Tribal Road Safety
Local, Rural and Tribal Road Safety (incl. Local Safety Plans) Hillary Isebrands Dick Albin, Craig Allred, Peter Eun, Dave Kopacz
Pedestrian and Bicycle Safety
Pedestrian and Bicycle Safety Peter Eun (Ped)
Brooke Struve (Bike)
Craig Allred, Hillary Isebrands, Keith Sinclair, David Petrucci
Roadway Departure Safety
(including Roadside Design)
Roadway Departure/Roadside Design Dick Albin Keith Harrison, George Merritt, Brooke Struve, Dave Kopacz, Tim Taylor
Safety Performance
Safety Performance Management (HSIP) Dave Kopacz Brooke Struve, Craig Allred, George Merritt
Performance Based Practical Design George Merritt Brooke Struve, Mark Doctor
Highway Safety Manual (including IHSDM)   David Petrucci, John McFadden, Mark Doctor
Flexible Design Keith Harrison Dave Kopacz
Systemic Safety Hillary Isebrands Keith Sinclair
Various Other Safety Programs and Initiatives
Road Safety Audits Craig Allred Dick Albin, Keith Harrison, Keith Sinclair, Hillary Isebrands
Safety Discipline Keith Sinclair All Team Members
Speed Management Craig Allred Keith Harrison, Hillary Isebrands, Tim Taylor
Visibility (including retroreflectivity, roadway lighting, signing and marking design) George Merritt Hillary Isebrands, Tim Taylor, Brooke Struve

 

Team Members
Technical Director
Patrick "Pat" Hasson
Safety and Design Technical Director
Ph: (708) 359-5079
patrick.hasson@dot.gov
 
Richard Albin
Safety Engineer

richard.albin@dot.gov
Hillary Isebrands
Safety Engineer

Federal Highway Administration
hillary.isebrands@dot.gov
Craig Allred
Transportation Specialist

craig.allred@dot.gov
John McFadden
Safety Engineer

John.McFadden@dot.gov
George Merritt
Safety Engineer

george.merritt@dot.gov
Mark Doctor
Safety and Design Engineer

mark.doctor@dot.gov
Keith Sinclair
Safety Engineer

keith.sinclair@dot.gov
Peter Eun
Safety Engineer

peter.eun@dot.gov
Brooke Struve
Safety and Design Engineer

brooke.struve@dot.gov
Keith Harrison
Safety and Design Engineer

keith.harrison@dot.gov
Timothy Taylor
Safety Engineer

timothy.taylor@dot.gov
David Petrucci
Safety Engineer

david.petrucci@dot.gov
Dave Kopacz
Safety Engineer (Hybrid)

david.kopacz@dot.gov
Elliott Moore
Safety Engineer

elliott.moore@dot.gov
Victoria Brinkly, PE
Senior Safety Engineer

victoria.brinkly@dot.gov
 

 

Page last modified on November 13, 2018
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000