U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-4000


Skip to content
Facebook iconYouTube iconTwitter iconFlickr iconLinkedInInstagram

FHWA Resource Center
Office of Innovation Implementation

FHWA Home / Resource Center / Safety and Design Team

Safety and Design

Safety and Design Team

Safety and Design is one of several teams within the Federal Highway Administration’s Resource Center. The Safety and Design Team works closely with FHWA Headquarters, field offices and other Federal agencies to provide technical assistance, technology deployment and training to partners and customers.

The following table lists the areas in which the team provides technical expertise along with the names of the team members who can provide assistance. You can find the person’s contact information by clicking on the name.

Technical Areas Primary Contact Other Contacts
(click on name for contact information)
Every Day Counts
Data-Driven Safety Analysis John McFadden Hillary Isebrands, David Petrucci, Elliott Moore
Safe Transportation for Every Pedestrian (STEP and STEP 2.0) Peter Eun Mark Doctor, Tim Taylor
Innovative Intersections and Interchange Geometrics (IIG) Mark Doctor David Petrucci, Hillary Isebrands, Tim Taylor
Reducing Rural Roadway Departures Dick Albin Tori Brinkly, Dave Kopacz, Elliott Moore
Road Diet Mark Doctor Peter Eun
High-Friction Surface Treatment Tori Brinkly Dave Kopacz
Safety Edge Tori Brinkly Dave Kopacz
Highway Design (General)
Design Discipline George Merritt Brooke Struve, Hillary Isebrands
Geometric Design George Merritt Mark Doctor, Hillary Isebrands, Brooke Struve, David Petrucci
Highway Safety Improvement Program (HSIP)
Crash Data John McFadden Hillary Isebrands, David Petrucci, George Merritt, Derek Troyer
Strategic Highway Safety Planning Keith Sinclair Dave Kopacz
Intersection Safety
Interchange Design and Evaluation Mark Doctor, Elliott Moore George Merritt, Brooke Struve, Elliott Moore
Intersection Safety and Design
(incl. Roundabouts)
Hillary Isebrands, Mark Doctor Tim Taylor, Mark Doctor, George Merritt, David Petrucci, Derek Troyer
Local, Rural and Tribal Road Safety
Local, Rural and Tribal Road Safety (incl. Local Safety Plans) Hillary Isebrands Tori Brinkly
Pedestrian and Bicycle Safety
Pedestrian and Bicycle Safety Peter Eun / Keith Sinclair (Ped)
Brooke Struve (Bike)
Hillary Isebrands
Complete Streets Brooke Struve (Bike) Tim Taylor, Keith Sinclair, Peter Eun, Derek Troyer
Roadway Departure Safety
(including Roadside Design)
Roadway Departure/Roadside Design Dick Albin George Merritt, Tori Brinkly, Elliott Moore, Brooke Struve, Dave Kopacz
Safety Performance
Safety Performance Management Dave Kopacz Keith Sinclair
Performance Based Practical Design George Merritt Brooke Struve, Mark Doctor
Data-Driven Safety Analysis (including Highway Safety Manual and IHSDM) David Petrucci, John McFadden Derek Troyer, George Merritt, Elliott Moore
Various Other Safety Programs and Initiatives
Road Safety Audits Tim Taylor Dick Albin, Hillary Isebrands, Tori Brinkly
Safety Discipline Keith Sinclair All Team Members
Speed Management Tim Taylor Mark Doctor
Visibility (including retroreflectivity, roadway lighting, signing and marking design) George Merritt Tim Taylor, Brooke Struve
Safe System Approach Mark Doctor David Petrucci

 

Team Members
Patrick "Pat" Hasson
Safety and Design Team Technical Director
patrick.hasson@dot.gov
Victoria "Tori" Brinkly
Senior Safety Engineer
tori.brinkly@dot.gov
Richard "Dick" Albin
Senior Safety Engineer

richard.albin@dot.gov
Hillary Isebrands
Senior Safety Engineer/Team Leader

hillary.isebrands@dot.gov
Elliott Moore
Safety and Design Engineer

elliott.moore@dot.gov
Derek Troyer
Safety Engineer

Derek.Troyer@dot.gov
John McFadden
Senior Safety Engineer

John.McFadden@dot.gov
Dave Kopacz
Senior Safety Engineer (Hybrid)

david.kopacz@dot.gov
George Merritt
Senior Safety and Design Engineer

george.merritt@dot.gov
Mark Doctor
Senior Safety and Design Engineer/Team Leader

mark.doctor@dot.gov
Keith Sinclair
Senior Safety Engineer

keith.sinclair@dot.gov
Peter Eun
Safety Engineer

peter.eun@dot.gov
Brooke Struve
Senior Safety and Design Engineer

brooke.struve@dot.gov
 
Timothy Taylor
Senior Safety Engineer

timothy.taylor@dot.gov
David Petrucci
Senior Safety Engineer

david.petrucci@dot.gov

 

Page last modified on January 24, 2022
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000